Skip to main content

Frontiers Advisory Structure

Frontiers operates under an advisory structure that ensures input from its partners and key stakeholders.

Operations Group

The Operations Group, led by Dr. Barohn and facilitated by Dr. Kimminau, is the primary decision-making body for Frontiers.The Operations Group is comprised of the leadership of the six Cores and the Administrative Core personnel. It is responsible for managing intra- and inter-core use, interaction and performance, with attention to evaluation and ideas for continuous improvement.

Members by Core:

Biostatistics and Research Support:
Matt Mayo, PhD, KUMC Department of Biostatistics
Jaime Caldwell, MBA, Executive Director KUMC Research Institute
Karen Blackwell, MS, Human Research Protection Program

Clinical Studies and Recruitment Strategies:
Jeffrey Burns, MD, MS, Co-director of the KU Alzheimer's Disease Center and Director of the Frontiers Clinical and Translational Science Unit
Patty Kluding, PT, PhD, KUMC Department of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science

Community and Collaboration:
Allen Greiner, MD, MPH, Director, KUMC Department of Family Medicine Research Division
Jannette Berkley-Patton, PhD, UMKC Department of Biomedical & Health Informatics
Sally Maliski, PhD, RN, FAAN, Dean, KUMC School of Nursing

Education and Training:
Ed Ellerbeck, MD, MPH Chair, KUMC Department of Preventive Medicine and Public Health
Won Choi, PhD, MPH, Executive Director, Master of Public Health Program, KUMC Department of Preventive Medicine and Public Health
Steve Leeder, PharmD, PhD, Division Director, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutic Innovation; Marion Merrell Dow Endowed Chair in Pediatric Clinical Pharmacology; Professor of Pediatrics and Pharmacology, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine
John Spertus, MD, Professor & Daniel J. Lauer / Missouri Endowed Chair / Metabolic & Vascular Disease Research \ Department of Biomedical & Health Informatics, UMKC - Co-Director Cardiovascular Outcomes Research, Saint Luke's Health System

Russ Waitman, PhD, Director of Medical Informatics, and Associate Vice Chancellor for Enterprise Analytics, KUMC Center for Medical Informatics and Enterprise Analytics

Stakeholder Engagement Advisory Board (SEAB)

The SEAB is the venue for Frontiers's partners and affiliates, as well as community, family, patient and disease advocate stakeholders to provide input into decision-making and participate in direction-setting for Frontiers. The SEAB discusses needs and opportunities in the regional clinical and translational research community, as well as the broader CTSA network. The SEAB serves as an active internal advisory board and ensures efficient inter-and intra- organizational communications.


Tom Curran, PHD, FRS, Director, Children’s Mercy Kansas City
Cheryl Jernigan, CPA. FACHE, Lead Patient Advocate, KU Cancer Center and Frontiers: University of Kansas Clinical and Translational Science Institute


Abiodun Akinwuntan, PhD, MPH, MBA, Dean, KUMC School of Health Professions
Neeli Bendapudi, PhD, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor, University of Kansas-Lawrence
John Carney, President and CEO, Center for Practical Bioethics
Wayne Carter, DVM, PhD, DAVCIM, President and CEO, Kansas City Area Life Sciences Institute
David Chao, PhD, President and CEO, Stowers Institute for Medical Research and BioMed Valley Discoveries, Inc.
Craig Dietz, DO, Chief Medical Officer, Kansas City CARE Clinic
Sally Dwyer, Director of Programs/Services, The ALS Association Mid-America Chapter and Director Midwest Neurology Alliance
Roy Jensen, MD, Director, KU Cancer Center
K. James Kallail, PhD, Associate Dean for Research, KUMC School of Medicine-Wichita
Steven Kanter, MD, Dean, UMKC School of Medicine
Ann Murguia, Elected Official, Commissioner Wyandotte County 3rd District
Bob Page, President and CEO, University of Kansas Hospital
Dominique Pahud, MBA, Founder & CEO Energizing Health
Kelly Ranallo, Founder/President, Turner Syndrome Global Alliance and Children’s Mercy Kansas City Family Advisory Board
Thomas Sack, PhD, President and CEO, MRIGlobal
Robert Simari, MD, Executive Dean, KUMC School of Medicine

External Advisory Board (EAB)

The EAB is comprised of nationally ranked clinical and translational investigators with CTSA expertise relevant to our specific focus areas. The EAB meets annually to provide guidance based on their experience in leadership roles at other CTSA hubs.


Nicole Boice, Founder and CEO, Global Genes
  Consuelo Hopkins-Wilkins, MD, Executive Director, Meharry-Vaderbilt Alliance, Vanderbilt University and Meharry Medical College
Lucila Ohno-Machado, MD, MBA, PhD, Professor of Medicine and Founding Chair, Health System Department of Biomedical Informatics, University of California San Diego
Gary Rosenthal, MD, Chair, Department of Internal Medicine, Wake Forest University
Julian Solway, MD, Director, Institute for Translational Medicine, University of Chicago

Last modified: Jun 25, 2019