Skip to main content

Inter-Institutional Pilot

The Consortium of Rural States (CORES) Research Collaborative is now accepting Letters of Intent for 2021-2022 CTSA Inter-Institutional Pilot Project Awards.

It is anticipated that funds up to $25,000 (direct costs only) per award per participating institution may be available for these collaborative projects.

View the full RFA [PDF]

The Inter-Institutional Pilot Project Awards promote collaboration across the Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) consortium by funding innovative, translational research projects that involve three or more of the six CTSA institutions that make up the CORES Research Collaborative: University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center; University of Kansas Medical Center; University of Kentucky; University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences; University of Iowa; and the University of Utah Health.

In accordance with the National Institutes of Health (NIH) strategic plan and its commitment to increasing representation in research, funding priority for this RFA will be given to research which addresses issues of disparities either because of rurality or underrepresented and disadvantaged groups.

Rurality includes individuals living in rural or frontier communities.

Underrepresented and disadvantaged groups include:

  • Ethnic groups that have been shown to be underrepresented in biomedical research: Blacks or African Americans, Hispanics or Latinos, American Indians or Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians and other Pacific Islanders.
  • Individuals with disabilities.
  • Individuals from disadvantaged backgrounds.

For more information and expanded definitions, please see the NIH's statement on Underrepresented Populations in the U.S. Biomedical, Clinical Behavioral and Social Science Enterprise.

Involvement of these groups is not a requirement for funding, but projects which address health concerns that disproportionately affect one or more of these groups, or projects that seek to apply or test general treatments to one of more of these groups are preferred.

Key Dates

  • Application Release Date: January 11, 2021
  • Letter of Intent & Draft Aims Deadline: February 15, 2021
  • Notice of Application Link: February 22, 2021
  • Application Deadline: April 12, 2021 5:00 pm Central Time
  • Notice of intent to fund at each CTSA: May 10, 2021
  • Just In Time Period: May 10, 2021 - June 9, 2021
  • Earliest Award Announcement: June 11, 2021
  • Funding Cycle: July 1, 2021 - June 30, 2022

If you have questions regarding the CORES CTSA Inter-Institutional Pilot Project Award, please contact Jen Baker, Frontiers Administrative Director, at

Last modified: Jan 11, 2021